Next to Senjokaku on a hill overlooking Itsukushima Shrine in Miyajima is a beautiful 5-story pagoda. Its white walls and red lacquer harmonize well with the shrine below it. The style is a blend of Japanese and Chinese ornament, and the interior is lavishly painted with Buddhist images, though they are not open for public viewing. The pagoda was originally built in 1407 and restored in 1533 and 1945.
It is dedicated to the Buddha of Medicine, Saint Fugen, and Saint Monju. Images relating to these figures were removed in the early Meiji Period and not replaced. One of the most unusual features of the pagoda is that the central pillar extends from the second floor to the top, and does not touch the foundation. Instead, there are smaller columns supporting the first story.
The Miyajima pagoda can be seen up close by climbing a flight of stone steps, making it difficult to reach with a stroller or wheelchair. However, it can be seen from many parts of the island, including a good view from Itsukushima Shrine below. For more information: http://www.miyajima.or.jp/english/spot/spot_other.html